Five new books I’m excited about!

Thanks to Reddit, I came across a page on Daily Finance announcing the Big Fall Books Preview. Until now, I didn’t know that was even a thing, but I’m glad it is!

Some of the books on my list are from that preview; others are not. Here are the books I’m most highly anticipating:

1. The Wolves of Midwinter by Anne Rice

Release Date: October 15th, 2013

Is anyone surprised that this is number one for me? I hope not. This is the second in Rice’s Wolf Gift chronicles, and while the series so far does not measure up to either The Vampire Chronicles or the Mayfair Witches series, this new series is refreshing (and better than Rice’s Songs of the Seraphim series).

2. Reign of Error: The Hoax of the Privatization Movement and the Danger to America’s Public Schools by Diane Ravitch

Release Date: September 17th, 2013

A few years ago I read Ravitch’s The Death and Life of the Great American School System and found it powerful and thought-provoking. Ravitch is a research professor of education at NYU, and as such I believe her to be an authority on America’s public schools and that her work is well worth reading.

3. Lawrence in Arabia: War, Deceit, Imperial Folly and the Making of the Modern Middle East by Scott Anderson

Release Date: August 6th, 2013

I think Americans (myself included) are depressingly ignorant of Middle Eastern history and how it relates to our own country.  The review states that the book too “years of intensive primary document research,” and that is one of the crucial ingredients to anyone book on history I am going to read. I don’t know anything about the author, so here’s hoping he doesn’t disappoint me.

4. Salinger by David Shields and Shane Salerno

Release Date: September 3rd, 2013

The author of Catcher in the Rye was notoriously reclusive. This biography promises to be more comprehensive and insightful than any that have come before it. I find Salinger’s most famous novel to be incredibly unique and important to American literature, and so I look forward to (hopefully) getting a good look into Salinger’s life.

5. Doctor Sleep (The Shining #2) by Stephen King

Release Date: September 24th, 2013

I’m not really a Stephen King fan. However, I read The Shining in a lit class in college, and was impressed by it. It was unsettling – far creepier than either of the movies were. Also, I anticipate a lot of chatter about this sequel and so think I had better be familiar with it.

3 thoughts on “Five new books I’m excited about!

  1. Pingback: Tips For Writing Books | Stirring Trouble i

Leave a Reply

