One more to add…

Yesterday, as you may recall, I posted about 5 books I’m looking forward to in the fall. This morning, Reddit again reminded me of one I forgot (mostly because it won’t be released in English until next year).

Haruki Murakami’s new novel, which in English is called Colourless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, was released in Japan on April 12th of this year. Within the first week it had already sold more than one million copies (and has continued to sell about a million copies every week since then). Murakami is steadily growing in popularity in the U.S., and the release of the English translation of his new book in 2014 is bound to create a stir. But I’m not sure I can wait that long.

The Spanish translation is being released on October 15th of this year…in two months. If I pre-order it, not only do I get to read it months before most native English-speakers, but I also get to practice my Spanish reading skills XD

There’s not much information in English about the book yet, at least not on GoodReads or Amazon (unless you can read Spanish), but The Asahi Shimbun seems to have the best article I’ve found yet about it. From that article you can also link to another interesting piece about how the book has led to a huge spike in classical music sales. I’d hope Murakami gets some kind of cut from that…

Leave a Reply

