IMO: 3 great fantasy(ish) novels

With talk of war with Syria overwhelming the Internet lately, I thought it might be a welcome change of pace to discuss my favorite supernatural and/or fantasy novels.

I’ve read overt fantasy books such as the Eragon and Harry Potter series, but I’m not particularly a fan of them (the exception being anything by Anne Rice). Rather, the type of fantasy books I prefer have only undertones of the fantastic or supernatural, so subtle that they don’t overwhelm the human message of the book. My top three favorites have all been published within the last couple years and so may be familiar to many of you, but for fear of giving anything away I’m going to keep my reviews/descriptions short:

1) The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I was positively enslaved by this book from the moment I picked it up. I can use all the regular clichés to describe it – beautiful, haunting, memorable – but there was something special about this book that possessed me.

2. The Devil in Silver by Victor La Valle

I’m not sure this one can rightfully be called fantasy. It could be that La Valle did such a flawless job of portraying a man with a mental illness that even I was convinced of his hallucinations. Regardless of the genre, this one has also made it into my list of favorite books of all time.

3. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

This one takes some dedication to read, considering it’s about 1,000 pages long. However, it’s well-paced (something I can’t claim for all of Murakami’s work) and enthralling. Of the three books I’ve listed, this is by far the most whimsical.

What books would you add to this list?

2 thoughts on “IMO: 3 great fantasy(ish) novels

    • Thanks! This one is on my to-read list. I don’t think I was aware that there were fantasy aspects to it, so now I have more to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

