Amazon announces new free shipping policy

While browsing today’s news in the publishing industry, I discovered that Amazon had made a change in its free shipping policy. Previously Amazon customers could get free Super Saver shipping on any purchase over $25. However, it seems that for the first time in more than a decade they’ve made a change to the minimum order for free shipping – you now have to spend at least $35 for free shipping.

I’m an online shopping addict and most of my books are purchased online, so this does affect me, though I tend to do the majority of my book shopping on half.com or abebooks.com (saviors during my university years). But I know that Amazon is the primary resource for a great number of people, and so the change in policy is going to affect a lot of book shoppers.

That’s why I want to share with my readers a website that I became very fond of while I was living in Shanghai. The Book Depository not only offers discounts on most of its titles, it also offers free shipping anywhere in the world. So when I found myself in desperate need of a paper book that I couldn’t find in Shanghai’s Foreign Language Bookstore, I could order it without paying an arm and a leg for shipping. Fantastic!

What other tips do you have for those looking for affordable books online?

One thought on “Amazon announces new free shipping policy

Leave a Reply

