What’s your 2014 Challenge?

If you’re on Goodreads, you’ve probably used or at least seen the reading challenge tool, which allows you to choose how many books you want to read in a year. It shows you your progress by percentage, and you can also keep track of the genres you read most.

These are the results of my 2013 goal:

2013 challenge

I managed that 150% only because I got my hands on books in dead-tree form again once I got back from China, and I couldn’t stop myself from devouring book after book. My goal for 2014 is still 40, as halfway through the year I may suddenly not have access to books the way I do now. More on that at a later date.

Goodreads also allows you to view some collective challenge stats for all users. I was a little disheartened by my own reading habits upon seeing this:

challenge1

Really? 60 books per challenge on average? Granted, I know Goodreads is a community of readers…but the average American reads much less than that. I’m not sure of the exact number; it must be somewhere between seven and seventeen.

60 seems awfully high. I think that average must come because of a few outliers who set their goals at 300. However, I’m even more skeptical about the 55 people who already completed their challenge nine days into the new year. I guess not everyone aims high…

Do any of you have a 2014 reading goal, whether on Goodreads or otherwise?

6 thoughts on “What’s your 2014 Challenge?

    • That’s the best way to find out! I’m glad you got started on Goodreads. My favorite feature is being able to sort my books into my own genres. Then you can get recommendations based on specific shelves, and also keep track of what percentage of the books you read come from which genres.

      I’ve been a Goodreads user for almost 4 years now. I use it every day, and it’s come to replace Amazon for my go-to when I want to read about a new book.

  1. I suspect it depends on availability of time. When I was working fulltime I doubt if I’d have managed forty books a year. And people with kids won’t get much chance to read. But now I’m home most of the time not only am I reading far more, but I have far more time to participate in things like Goodreads. Maybe there’s lots of older people making the statistics look a bit skewed…I must admit I do get staggered at the number of books some people manage to read though.

    • A friend of mine said she knows people that use the challenge to keep track of books they read to their primary school classes, or to track what their children read. That would certainly bring the average way up!

      • Yes, I was thinking it’d also depend what ‘genres’ you read. I guess I could probably read 6 romances in the time it takes to read one biography. I know I can read 2 crimes in the same time as it takes to read one literary fiction…

Leave a Reply

